Le fil

31 October 2016. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Series of 100 paintings by Benoît Labourdette (acrylic and mixed media on canvas) format of 100x100cm in format 12x12cm, 2016.

Exhibition in the studio of the artist in the fourth quarter 2016.

«Initially, I had a film project : work inside the duration of moving images to record a memory of a gone past. But the making of this film did not occured. Then the objects and materials collected for this purpose suddenly moved to the canvas to leave their mark and then disappear. I decided to become aware of this, let it happen. Bribe after bribe, over several months, choreographic protocols, like so many little shooting sets, have left their traces on squares stretched canvas (I’ve been using the square format for a number of previous films). One day, it was over. Out of curiosity I counted the number of paintings : precisely one hundred. The title of this series of paintings was imposed itself : “The wire”, for symbolic reasons and also for the fact that the only materials used were wood, paint and wire. And then... I just understood that “FIL” (“Wire”), is “FILM” without the “M” (in french, the letter “M” sounds like “aime” - love). “FIL-M”.»

Text about the exhibition, by Jean-Marie Baldner

A cupboard in a house in the previous memories or a Parisian apartment. Inside, a few objects, personal importance, pieces of wood, coils of wire, balls of wool, old rags, sticks of incense, a few tubes of acrylic... This involved bulking is born the desire to trace, an entry stopped, laid flat, a photograph of stop, one before and one after where persists that the sign ; the desire of a gesture where each object would be the producer and the product of its colorful trace, his disappearance. A forest of paintings, crisp one hundred squares, different formats, as in groves, where the materiality of the framework of wood and the cotton canvas form imprint, presence to guess and imagine, expects of other prints enhanced threads, fabrics, wood. Making objects and media material and ephemeral tool, the result of the matrix, a memory and a history of wire and tree.

Portfolio

Because of the mechanical nature of its technical function, photography is for me a matter of time rather than a visual matter : in its silver salts, or its pixels today, it is time which is captured, preserved, reinvented at every glance. Time of life, time of vision, time of poetry.

Painting is the original material of plastic work, which is intimately connected with photography, because it also contains the time of its gesture and its imagination.

Artistic installation, the existence in space and time of artistic forms is crucial because it is the way in which the work is modified by its relation to the spectator.

These practices interact with my work as a filmmaker, have always intermingled.

Accueil > Art plastique > Le fil

Art plastique

La photographie, de par la nature mécanique de son fonctionnement technique, est pour moi une matière de temps plus qu’une matière visuelle : dans ses sels d’argent, ou ses pixels aujourd’hui, c’est du temps qui est capté, conservé, réinventé à chaque regard. Temps de vie, temps de vision, temps de poésie.

La peinture est la matière originelle du travail plastique, qui se relie intimement à la photographie à mon sens, car elle contient aussi le temps de son geste et de son imaginaire.

L’installation, c’est à dire l’existence dans l’espace et le temps des formes artistiques est cruciale, car il s’agit de la façon dont l’œuvre se modifie par sa mise en relation avec le spectateur.

Ces pratiques dialoguent avec mon travail de cinéaste, s’interpénètrent depuis toujours.

Le fil

31 octobre 2016

Série de 100 tableaux de Benoît Labourdette (acrylique et techniques mixtes sur toile) du format 100x100cm au format 12x12cm, 2016.

Exposition dans l’atelier de l’artiste au quatrième trimestre 2016.

« Au départ, j’avais un projet de film : travailler dans la matière du temps audiovisuel l’inscription de la trace d’un passé révolu. Mais le film ne se faisait pas, traînait. Puis les objets et matières collectés pour ce dessein se sont tout à coup déplacés vers la toile pour y laisser leur trace puis disparaître. J’ai décidé d’être à l’écoute de cela, de laisser faire. Bribe après bribe, sur plusieurs mois, des protocoles chorégraphiques, comme autant de mini tournages de films, ont laissé leurs traces sur des carrés tendus de toile (j’avais employé le format carré pour un certain nombre de films précédents). Un jour, ce fut terminé. J’ai compté par curiosité le nombre de toiles : précisément cent. Le titre de cette série de toiles s’était imposé de lui-même : « Le fil », pour des raisons symboliques et aussi du fait que les seules matières employées furent le bois, la peinture et le fil. Et puis... je viens de comprendre que « FIL », c’est « FILM » sans le « M ». « FIL-M ». »

Texte de Jean-Marie Baldner à propos de l’exposition

Un placard dans une maison aux souvenirs antérieurs ou dans un appartement parisien. À l’intérieur, quelques objets, une importance toute personnelle, bouts de bois, bobines de fil, pelotes de laine, chiffons anciens, bâtons d’encens, quelques tubes d’acrylique… De cet entassement mêlé naît la volonté de faire trace, d’une écriture arrêtée, d’une mise à plat, une photographie de l’arrêt, d’un avant et d’un après d’où ne persiste que le signe ; le désir d’un geste où chaque objet serait le producteur et le produit de sa trace colorée, celle de sa disparition. Une forêt de toiles, cent carrés apprêtés, de différents formats, comme en bosquets, dans lesquelles la matérialité du cadre de bois et de la toile de coton forment empreinte, présence à deviner et à imaginer, attend d’autres empreintes rehaussées de fils, de tissus, de bois. Faire des objets et des supports la matière et l’outil éphémère, du résultat la matrice, une mémoire et une histoire de fil et d’arbre.