The wire

Le fil Film by Benoît Labourdette (8’34s, 2016). Documentary on the painting exhibition “The wire” by Benoît Labourdette, Paris, October 2016. thumbnail Benoît Labourdette
14 November 2016. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Documentary on the painting exhibition “The wire” by Benoît Labourdette, Paris, October 2016.

Initially, I had a film project : work inside the duration of moving images to record a memory of a gone past. But the making of this film did not occured. Then the objects and materials collected for this purpose suddenly moved to the canvas to leave their mark and then disappear. I decided to become aware of this, let it happen. Bribe after bribe, over several months, choreographic protocols, like so many little shooting sets, have left their traces on squares stretched canvas (I’ve been using the square format for a number of previous films). One day, it was over. Out of curiosity I counted the number of paintings : precisely one hundred. The title of this series of paintings was imposed itself : “The wire”, for symbolic reasons and also for the fact that the only materials used were wood, paint and wire. And then... I just understood that “FIL” (“Wire”), is “FILM” without the “M” (in french, the letter “M” sounds like “aime” - love). “FIL-M”.

This documentary film is a simple project for keeping a memory of this exhibition and of these paintings, because they now travel to other houses. The text that Jean-Marie Baldner had done me friendship to compose for the exhibition is red on the pictures by Leïla Barreau, Martine Stora, Carole Contant, Valentine Cohen and myself.

Text about the exhibition, by Jean-Marie Baldner

A cupboard in a house in the previous memories or a Parisian apartment. Inside, a few objects, personal importance, pieces of wood, coils of wire, balls of wool, old rags, sticks of incense, a few tubes of acrylic... This involved bulking is born the desire to trace, an entry stopped, laid flat, a photograph of stop, one before and one after where persists that the sign ; the desire of a gesture where each object would be the producer and the product of its colorful trace, his disappearance. A forest of paintings, crisp one hundred squares, different formats, as in groves, where the materiality of the framework of wood and the cotton canvas form imprint, presence to guess and imagine, expects of other prints enhanced threads, fabrics, wood. Making objects and media material and ephemeral tool, the result of the matrix, a memory and a history of wire and tree.

Diffusion

Download
What is a “documentary” ? A singular look on the world, on reality. Any film, any work, offers a vision of the world, whether through fiction or not. Moreover, some documentaries include fiction, and vice versa. So why differentiate these two forms of cinema ? Perhaps simply to clarify what the audience should expect from the film : the proposal to live a dream in an imaginary, or the proposal to discover unknown parts of the world, as revealed by a unique (...)

Accueil > Films > Documentaires > Le fil

Documentaires

Qu’est-ce qu’un « documentaire » ? Un regard singulier sur le monde, sur la réalité. Tout film, toute œuvre, au fond, propose une vision du monde, que cela soit par le truchement de la fiction ou pas. D’ailleurs, certains documentaires intègrent de la fiction, et inversement. Alors pourquoi différencier ces deux formes de cinéma ? Peut-être tout simplement pour préciser au spectateur ce qu’il doit attendre de prime abord du film : la proposition de vivre avant tout un rêve dans un imaginaire, ou la proposition de découvrir des pans du monde inconnus, car révélés par un regard unique.

Le fil

14 novembre 2016

Documentaire sur l’exposition de peinture « Le fil » de Benoît Labourdette, Paris, octobre 2016.

Un film de Benoît Labourdette (8’34s, 2016).


Le fil


Le fil Documentaire sur l’exposition de peinture « Le fil » de Benoît Labourdette, Paris, octobre 2016. Un film de Benoît Labourdette (8’34s, 2016). thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

Au départ, j’avais un projet de film : travailler dans la matière du temps audiovisuel l’inscription de la trace d’un passé révolu. Mais le film ne se faisait pas, traînait. Puis les objets et matières collectés pour ce dessein se sont tout à coup déplacés vers la toile pour y laisser leur trace puis disparaître. J’ai décidé d’être à l’écoute de cela, de laisser faire. Bribe après bribe, sur plusieurs mois, des protocoles chorégraphiques, comme autant de mini tournages de films, ont laissé leurs traces sur des carrés tendus de toile (j’avais employé le format carré pour un certain nombre de films précédents). Un jour, ce fut terminé. J’ai compté par curiosité le nombre de toiles : précisément cent. Le titre de cette série de toiles s’était imposé de lui-même : « Le fil », pour des raisons symboliques et aussi du fait que les seules matières employées furent le bois, la peinture et le fil. Et puis... je viens de comprendre que « FIL », c’est « FILM » sans le « M ». « FIL-M ».

Ce film documentaire est un simple projet de mémoire de cette exposition et de ces toiles, car les toiles, désormais, voyagent vers d’autres maisons. Le texte que Jean-Marie Baldner m’avait fait l’amitié de composer pour présenter l’exposition est lu sur les images de ce plan-séquence, en toute simplicité et dans l’amitié de compagnonnages artistiques, par Leïla Barreau, Martine Stora, Carole Contant, Valentine Cohen et moi-même.

Texte de Jean-Marie Baldner à propos de l’exposition

Un placard dans une maison aux souvenirs antérieurs ou dans un appartement parisien. À l’intérieur, quelques objets, une importance toute personnelle, bouts de bois, bobines de fil, pelotes de laine, chiffons anciens, bâtons d’encens, quelques tubes d’acrylique… De cet entassement mêlé naît la volonté de faire trace, d’une écriture arrêtée, d’une mise à plat, une photographie de l’arrêt, d’un avant et d’un après d’où ne persiste que le signe ; le désir d’un geste où chaque objet serait le producteur et le produit de sa trace colorée, celle de sa disparition. Une forêt de toiles, cent carrés apprêtés, de différents formats, comme en bosquets, dans lesquelles la matérialité du cadre de bois et de la toile de coton forment empreinte, présence à deviner et à imaginer, attend d’autres empreintes rehaussées de fils, de tissus, de bois. Faire des objets et des supports la matière et l’outil éphémère, du résultat la matrice, une mémoire et une histoire de fil et d’arbre.