MPAA: Films for the 10th anniversary of the House of Amateur Artistic Practices

Film 1 : la MPAA c’est où ? Five films to affirm the identity of a Parisian cultural institution, MPAA (House of Amateur Artistic Practices).

House of Amateur Artistic Practices (MPAA)

Places for musical, theatrical and artistic rehearsals in the broad sense of the term, places for artistic practice workshops, performance and exhibition venues, MPAA has five sites in Paris and has existed since 2008.

Ten years of existence and a new dynamic

September 28, 2018 was the tenth anniversary of the creation of MPAA by the City of Paris. The paradox of MPAA is a very strong use by amateur artists but a poorly defined identity. I was asked to make five films to support the new dynamics of this institution, led by its new director, Sonia Leplat, and a team of 38 highly motivated people.

The movies

Five films for five themes, five axes:
  • “MPAA is it? ”: the first film, “global”. MPAA has 5 sites in Paris, it is important to visualize them, to perceive the global spirit and the specificities of the places. Film shot entirely with a drone to feel the movement.
  • “MPAA, place of rehearsal”: rehearsal rooms at very low cost, very well equipped, it is the backbone of the MPAA.
  • “MPAA, place for creation”: MPAA allows and authorizes artistic encounters, creative dynamics, the existence of projects that would not have been possible without it.
  • “MPAA, place for shows”: MPAA is also a technically perfectly equipped performance venue, which gives meaning and purpose to the projects that are being built there.
  • “MPAA, open space”: there are many partnerships and openness is in the DNA of MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette
28 September 2018. Published by Benoît Labourdette.

Five films to affirm the identity of a Parisian cultural institution, MPAA (House of Amateur Artistic Practices).

House of Amateur Artistic Practices (MPAA)

Places for musical, theatrical and artistic rehearsals in the broad sense of the term, places for artistic practice workshops, performance and exhibition venues, MPAA has five sites in Paris and has existed since 2008.

Ten years of existence and a new dynamic

September 28, 2018 was the tenth anniversary of the creation of MPAA by the City of Paris. The paradox of MPAA is a very strong use by amateur artists but a poorly defined identity. I was asked to make five films to support the new dynamics of this institution, led by its new director, Sonia Leplat, and a team of 38 highly motivated people.

The movies

Five films for five themes, five axes:

  • MPAA is it? ”: the first film, “global”. MPAA has 5 sites in Paris, it is important to visualize them, to perceive the global spirit and the specificities of the places. Film shot entirely with a drone to feel the movement.
  • MPAA, place of rehearsal”: rehearsal rooms at very low cost, very well equipped, it is the backbone of the MPAA.
  • MPAA, place for creation”: MPAA allows and authorizes artistic encounters, creative dynamics, the existence of projects that would not have been possible without it.
  • MPAA, place for shows”: MPAA is also a technically perfectly equipped performance venue, which gives meaning and purpose to the projects that are being built there.
  • MPAA, open space”: there are many partnerships and openness is in the DNA of MPAA.
Film 2 : la MPAA, lieu de répétition
Film 2 : la MPAA, lieu de répétition Five films to affirm the identity of a Parisian cultural institution, MPAA (House of Amateur Artistic Practices).

House of Amateur Artistic Practices (MPAA)

Places for musical, theatrical and artistic rehearsals in the broad sense of the term, places for artistic practice workshops, performance and exhibition venues, MPAA has five sites in Paris and has existed since 2008.

Ten years of existence and a new dynamic

September 28, 2018 was the tenth anniversary of the creation of MPAA by the City of Paris. The paradox of MPAA is a very strong use by amateur artists but a poorly defined identity. I was asked to make five films to support the new dynamics of this institution, led by its new director, Sonia Leplat, and a team of 38 highly motivated people.

The movies

Five films for five themes, five axes:
  • “MPAA is it? ”: the first film, “global”. MPAA has 5 sites in Paris, it is important to visualize them, to perceive the global spirit and the specificities of the places. Film shot entirely with a drone to feel the movement.
  • “MPAA, place of rehearsal”: rehearsal rooms at very low cost, very well equipped, it is the backbone of the MPAA.
  • “MPAA, place for creation”: MPAA allows and authorizes artistic encounters, creative dynamics, the existence of projects that would not have been possible without it.
  • “MPAA, place for shows”: MPAA is also a technically perfectly equipped performance venue, which gives meaning and purpose to the projects that are being built there.
  • “MPAA, open space”: there are many partnerships and openness is in the DNA of MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette
Film 3 : la MPAA, lieu de création
Film 3 : la MPAA, lieu de création Five films to affirm the identity of a Parisian cultural institution, MPAA (House of Amateur Artistic Practices).

House of Amateur Artistic Practices (MPAA)

Places for musical, theatrical and artistic rehearsals in the broad sense of the term, places for artistic practice workshops, performance and exhibition venues, MPAA has five sites in Paris and has existed since 2008.

Ten years of existence and a new dynamic

September 28, 2018 was the tenth anniversary of the creation of MPAA by the City of Paris. The paradox of MPAA is a very strong use by amateur artists but a poorly defined identity. I was asked to make five films to support the new dynamics of this institution, led by its new director, Sonia Leplat, and a team of 38 highly motivated people.

The movies

Five films for five themes, five axes:
  • “MPAA is it? ”: the first film, “global”. MPAA has 5 sites in Paris, it is important to visualize them, to perceive the global spirit and the specificities of the places. Film shot entirely with a drone to feel the movement.
  • “MPAA, place of rehearsal”: rehearsal rooms at very low cost, very well equipped, it is the backbone of the MPAA.
  • “MPAA, place for creation”: MPAA allows and authorizes artistic encounters, creative dynamics, the existence of projects that would not have been possible without it.
  • “MPAA, place for shows”: MPAA is also a technically perfectly equipped performance venue, which gives meaning and purpose to the projects that are being built there.
  • “MPAA, open space”: there are many partnerships and openness is in the DNA of MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette
Film 4 : la MPAA, lieu de spectacles
Film 4 : la MPAA, lieu de spectacles Five films to affirm the identity of a Parisian cultural institution, MPAA (House of Amateur Artistic Practices).

House of Amateur Artistic Practices (MPAA)

Places for musical, theatrical and artistic rehearsals in the broad sense of the term, places for artistic practice workshops, performance and exhibition venues, MPAA has five sites in Paris and has existed since 2008.

Ten years of existence and a new dynamic

September 28, 2018 was the tenth anniversary of the creation of MPAA by the City of Paris. The paradox of MPAA is a very strong use by amateur artists but a poorly defined identity. I was asked to make five films to support the new dynamics of this institution, led by its new director, Sonia Leplat, and a team of 38 highly motivated people.

The movies

Five films for five themes, five axes:
  • “MPAA is it? ”: the first film, “global”. MPAA has 5 sites in Paris, it is important to visualize them, to perceive the global spirit and the specificities of the places. Film shot entirely with a drone to feel the movement.
  • “MPAA, place of rehearsal”: rehearsal rooms at very low cost, very well equipped, it is the backbone of the MPAA.
  • “MPAA, place for creation”: MPAA allows and authorizes artistic encounters, creative dynamics, the existence of projects that would not have been possible without it.
  • “MPAA, place for shows”: MPAA is also a technically perfectly equipped performance venue, which gives meaning and purpose to the projects that are being built there.
  • “MPAA, open space”: there are many partnerships and openness is in the DNA of MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette
Film 5 : la MPAA, lieu ouvert
Film 5 : la MPAA, lieu ouvert Five films to affirm the identity of a Parisian cultural institution, MPAA (House of Amateur Artistic Practices).

House of Amateur Artistic Practices (MPAA)

Places for musical, theatrical and artistic rehearsals in the broad sense of the term, places for artistic practice workshops, performance and exhibition venues, MPAA has five sites in Paris and has existed since 2008.

Ten years of existence and a new dynamic

September 28, 2018 was the tenth anniversary of the creation of MPAA by the City of Paris. The paradox of MPAA is a very strong use by amateur artists but a poorly defined identity. I was asked to make five films to support the new dynamics of this institution, led by its new director, Sonia Leplat, and a team of 38 highly motivated people.

The movies

Five films for five themes, five axes:
  • “MPAA is it? ”: the first film, “global”. MPAA has 5 sites in Paris, it is important to visualize them, to perceive the global spirit and the specificities of the places. Film shot entirely with a drone to feel the movement.
  • “MPAA, place of rehearsal”: rehearsal rooms at very low cost, very well equipped, it is the backbone of the MPAA.
  • “MPAA, place for creation”: MPAA allows and authorizes artistic encounters, creative dynamics, the existence of projects that would not have been possible without it.
  • “MPAA, place for shows”: MPAA is also a technically perfectly equipped performance venue, which gives meaning and purpose to the projects that are being built there.
  • “MPAA, open space”: there are many partnerships and openness is in the DNA of MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

Dissemination strategy

These five films were screened during an evening event to mark the 10th anniversary of MPAA, on 28 September 2018, combined with institutional presentation and live performance moments. I was present during the evening to broadcast the films, display on the screen a dress of the evening (the names of the people intervening on stage in particular) and broadcast live during the public installation of the photos taken in the reception hall. These films have therefore been designed to be able to participate in the entertainment of the evening.

In addition, these films are shown on social networks and film 1 is shown on a loop in the halls of the five MPAAs, so that users too are aware of the place in which they are located.

Work method

MPAA has a new mediation and communication project: staff grab video cameras themselves to make films promoting events, workshops and calls for projects. So, apart from the first film for which I shot the images myself with a drone, the images of the other films are mainly images shot by MPAA employees. The project is really participatory, appropriate.

Concerning the narrative threads of the films, however, the images themselves were not enough to “tell a story”. I therefore suggested to MPAA staff that they record together, in voice-over, their personal experiences of their work, its meaning and its concrete incarnation. It is from this material, very sincere, that the narrative of the films was built.

Then, for the editing, a large number of successive versions were produced, with feedback from MPAA management team (thanks to a private streaming platform). Thus the films are the result of a real collaboration on the substance between the production and the sponsor. I use so-called “agile” methods, which, because of their technical protocols, allow a lot of flexibility and possible modifications, to achieve the result as close as possible to expectations.

Portfolio

Accueil > Prestations > Films de commande > MPAA : Films pour le 10e anniversaire de la Maison des Pratiques Artistiques (...)

Films de commande

Je réalise des films de commande ainsi que leurs éventuels dispositifs de projection, en articulant la prestation aux besoins exacts. Inventer les méthodes de travail, souvent collectives, qui permettront au projet de répondre à ses objectifs au mieux autant dans son contenu que dans sa façon d’être mené, son budget et son exigence technique.

MPAA : Films pour le 10e anniversaire de la Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur

28 septembre 2018

Cinq films pour affirmer l’identité d’une institution culturelle parisienne, la MPAA (Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur).

La Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur (MPAA)

Lieux de répétitions musicales, théâtrales, artistiques au sens large, lieu d’ateliers de pratiques artistiques, lieux de spectacles et d’expositions, la MPAA a cinq sites dans Paris et existe depuis 2008.

Dix ans d’existence et une nouvelle dynamique

Le 28 septembre 2018 était le dixième anniversaire de la création de la MPAA par la Ville de Paris. Le paradoxe de la MPAA, c’est un très fort usage par les artistes amateur mais une identité mal définie. Ainsi il m’a été demandé de réaliser cinq films pour accompagner la nouvelle dynamique de cette institution, portée par sa nouvelle directrice, Sonia Leplat, et une équipe de 38 personnes très motivées.

Les films

Cinq films pour cinq thématiques, cinq axes :

  • « La MPAA c’est où ? » : le premier film, « global ». La MPAA a 5 sites dans Paris, il est important de les visualiser, de percevoir l’esprit global et les spécificités des lieux. Film entièrement tourné avec un drone pour sentir le mouvement.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de répétition » : des salles de répétition à très bas coût, très bien équipées, c’est la colonne vertébrale de la MPAA.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de création » : la MPAA permet et autorise des rencontres artistiques, des dynamiques de création, l’existence de projets qui n’auraient pu voir le jour sans elle.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de spectacles » : la MPAA est aussi un lieu de spectacle parfaitement équipé techniquement, ce qui donne sens et finalité aux projets qui s’y construisent.
  • « La MPAA, lieu ouvert » : les partenariats sont nombreux et l’ouverture est dans l’ADN de la MPAA.

Film 1 : la MPAA c’est où ?


Film 1 : la MPAA c’est où ? Cinq films pour affirmer l’identité d’une institution culturelle parisienne, la MPAA (Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur).

La Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur (MPAA)

Lieux de répétitions musicales, théâtrales, artistiques au sens large, lieu d’ateliers de pratiques artistiques, lieux de spectacles et d’expositions, la MPAA a cinq sites dans Paris et existe depuis 2008.

Dix ans d’existence et une nouvelle dynamique

Le 28 septembre 2018 était le dixième anniversaire de la création de la MPAA par la Ville de Paris. Le paradoxe de la MPAA, c’est un très fort usage par les artistes amateur mais une identité mal définie. Ainsi il m’a été demandé de réaliser cinq films pour accompagner la nouvelle dynamique de cette institution, portée par sa nouvelle directrice, Sonia Leplat, et une équipe de 38 personnes très motivées.

Les films

Cinq films pour cinq thématiques, cinq axes :
  • « La MPAA c’est où ? » : le premier film, « global ». La MPAA a 5 sites dans Paris, il est important de les visualiser, de percevoir l’esprit global et les spécificités des lieux. Film entièrement tourné avec un drone pour sentir le mouvement.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de répétition » : des salles de répétition à très bas coût, très bien équipées, c’est la colonne vertébrale de la MPAA.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de création » : la MPAA permet et autorise des rencontres artistiques, des dynamiques de création, l’existence de projets qui n’auraient pu voir le jour sans elle.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de spectacles » : la MPAA est aussi un lieu de spectacle parfaitement équipé techniquement, ce qui donne sens et finalité aux projets qui s’y construisent.
  • « La MPAA, lieu ouvert » : les partenariats sont nombreux et l’ouverture est dans l’ADN de la MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

Film 2 : la MPAA, lieu de répétition


Film 2 : la MPAA, lieu de répétition Cinq films pour affirmer l’identité d’une institution culturelle parisienne, la MPAA (Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur).

La Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur (MPAA)

Lieux de répétitions musicales, théâtrales, artistiques au sens large, lieu d’ateliers de pratiques artistiques, lieux de spectacles et d’expositions, la MPAA a cinq sites dans Paris et existe depuis 2008.

Dix ans d’existence et une nouvelle dynamique

Le 28 septembre 2018 était le dixième anniversaire de la création de la MPAA par la Ville de Paris. Le paradoxe de la MPAA, c’est un très fort usage par les artistes amateur mais une identité mal définie. Ainsi il m’a été demandé de réaliser cinq films pour accompagner la nouvelle dynamique de cette institution, portée par sa nouvelle directrice, Sonia Leplat, et une équipe de 38 personnes très motivées.

Les films

Cinq films pour cinq thématiques, cinq axes :
  • « La MPAA c’est où ? » : le premier film, « global ». La MPAA a 5 sites dans Paris, il est important de les visualiser, de percevoir l’esprit global et les spécificités des lieux. Film entièrement tourné avec un drone pour sentir le mouvement.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de répétition » : des salles de répétition à très bas coût, très bien équipées, c’est la colonne vertébrale de la MPAA.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de création » : la MPAA permet et autorise des rencontres artistiques, des dynamiques de création, l’existence de projets qui n’auraient pu voir le jour sans elle.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de spectacles » : la MPAA est aussi un lieu de spectacle parfaitement équipé techniquement, ce qui donne sens et finalité aux projets qui s’y construisent.
  • « La MPAA, lieu ouvert » : les partenariats sont nombreux et l’ouverture est dans l’ADN de la MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

Film 3 : la MPAA, lieu de création


Film 3 : la MPAA, lieu de création Cinq films pour affirmer l’identité d’une institution culturelle parisienne, la MPAA (Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur).

La Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur (MPAA)

Lieux de répétitions musicales, théâtrales, artistiques au sens large, lieu d’ateliers de pratiques artistiques, lieux de spectacles et d’expositions, la MPAA a cinq sites dans Paris et existe depuis 2008.

Dix ans d’existence et une nouvelle dynamique

Le 28 septembre 2018 était le dixième anniversaire de la création de la MPAA par la Ville de Paris. Le paradoxe de la MPAA, c’est un très fort usage par les artistes amateur mais une identité mal définie. Ainsi il m’a été demandé de réaliser cinq films pour accompagner la nouvelle dynamique de cette institution, portée par sa nouvelle directrice, Sonia Leplat, et une équipe de 38 personnes très motivées.

Les films

Cinq films pour cinq thématiques, cinq axes :
  • « La MPAA c’est où ? » : le premier film, « global ». La MPAA a 5 sites dans Paris, il est important de les visualiser, de percevoir l’esprit global et les spécificités des lieux. Film entièrement tourné avec un drone pour sentir le mouvement.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de répétition » : des salles de répétition à très bas coût, très bien équipées, c’est la colonne vertébrale de la MPAA.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de création » : la MPAA permet et autorise des rencontres artistiques, des dynamiques de création, l’existence de projets qui n’auraient pu voir le jour sans elle.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de spectacles » : la MPAA est aussi un lieu de spectacle parfaitement équipé techniquement, ce qui donne sens et finalité aux projets qui s’y construisent.
  • « La MPAA, lieu ouvert » : les partenariats sont nombreux et l’ouverture est dans l’ADN de la MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

Film 4 : la MPAA, lieu de spectacles


Film 4 : la MPAA, lieu de spectacles Cinq films pour affirmer l’identité d’une institution culturelle parisienne, la MPAA (Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur).

La Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur (MPAA)

Lieux de répétitions musicales, théâtrales, artistiques au sens large, lieu d’ateliers de pratiques artistiques, lieux de spectacles et d’expositions, la MPAA a cinq sites dans Paris et existe depuis 2008.

Dix ans d’existence et une nouvelle dynamique

Le 28 septembre 2018 était le dixième anniversaire de la création de la MPAA par la Ville de Paris. Le paradoxe de la MPAA, c’est un très fort usage par les artistes amateur mais une identité mal définie. Ainsi il m’a été demandé de réaliser cinq films pour accompagner la nouvelle dynamique de cette institution, portée par sa nouvelle directrice, Sonia Leplat, et une équipe de 38 personnes très motivées.

Les films

Cinq films pour cinq thématiques, cinq axes :
  • « La MPAA c’est où ? » : le premier film, « global ». La MPAA a 5 sites dans Paris, il est important de les visualiser, de percevoir l’esprit global et les spécificités des lieux. Film entièrement tourné avec un drone pour sentir le mouvement.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de répétition » : des salles de répétition à très bas coût, très bien équipées, c’est la colonne vertébrale de la MPAA.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de création » : la MPAA permet et autorise des rencontres artistiques, des dynamiques de création, l’existence de projets qui n’auraient pu voir le jour sans elle.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de spectacles » : la MPAA est aussi un lieu de spectacle parfaitement équipé techniquement, ce qui donne sens et finalité aux projets qui s’y construisent.
  • « La MPAA, lieu ouvert » : les partenariats sont nombreux et l’ouverture est dans l’ADN de la MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

Film 5 : la MPAA, lieu ouvert


Film 5 : la MPAA, lieu ouvert Cinq films pour affirmer l’identité d’une institution culturelle parisienne, la MPAA (Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur).

La Maison des Pratiques Artistiques Amateur (MPAA)

Lieux de répétitions musicales, théâtrales, artistiques au sens large, lieu d’ateliers de pratiques artistiques, lieux de spectacles et d’expositions, la MPAA a cinq sites dans Paris et existe depuis 2008.

Dix ans d’existence et une nouvelle dynamique

Le 28 septembre 2018 était le dixième anniversaire de la création de la MPAA par la Ville de Paris. Le paradoxe de la MPAA, c’est un très fort usage par les artistes amateur mais une identité mal définie. Ainsi il m’a été demandé de réaliser cinq films pour accompagner la nouvelle dynamique de cette institution, portée par sa nouvelle directrice, Sonia Leplat, et une équipe de 38 personnes très motivées.

Les films

Cinq films pour cinq thématiques, cinq axes :
  • « La MPAA c’est où ? » : le premier film, « global ». La MPAA a 5 sites dans Paris, il est important de les visualiser, de percevoir l’esprit global et les spécificités des lieux. Film entièrement tourné avec un drone pour sentir le mouvement.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de répétition » : des salles de répétition à très bas coût, très bien équipées, c’est la colonne vertébrale de la MPAA.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de création » : la MPAA permet et autorise des rencontres artistiques, des dynamiques de création, l’existence de projets qui n’auraient pu voir le jour sans elle.
  • « La MPAA, lieu de spectacles » : la MPAA est aussi un lieu de spectacle parfaitement équipé techniquement, ce qui donne sens et finalité aux projets qui s’y construisent.
  • « La MPAA, lieu ouvert » : les partenariats sont nombreux et l’ouverture est dans l’ADN de la MPAA.
thumbnail Benoît Labourdette

Stratégie de diffusion

Ces cinq films ont été diffusés lors d’une soirée événement pour les 10 ans de la MPAA, le 28 septembre 2018, articulés avec des moments de présentation institutionnels et des moments de spectacle vivant. J’étais présent lors de la soirée pour diffuser les films, afficher à l’écran un habillage de la soirée (les noms des personnes intervenant sur scène notamment) et diffuser en direct pendant l’installation du public des photos prises dans le hall d’accueil. Ces films ont donc été pensés pour pouvoir participer à l’animation de la soirée.

Par ailleurs, ces films circulent sur les réseaux sociaux et le film 1 est diffusé en boucle dans les halls des cinq MPAA, afin que les usagers prennent eux aussi bien conscience du lieu dans lequel ils se trouvent.

Méthode de travail

La MPAA a un nouveau projet de médiation et de communication : des personnels se saisissent eux-mêmes de caméras vidéo pour réaliser les films de promotion des événements, ateliers et appels à projets. Ainsi, à part le premier film pour lequel j’ai tourné moi-même les images avec un drone, les images des autres films sont principalement des images tournées par des salariés de la MPAA. Le projet est vraiment participatif, approprié.

Concernant les fils conducteurs narratifs des films, malgré tout les images elles-mêmes ne suffisaient pas à « raconter une histoire ». J’ai donc proposé aux personnels de la MPAA d’enregistrer ensemble, en voix-off, leurs vécus personnels de leur travail, de son sens et son incarnation concrète. C’est à partir de cette matière, très sincère, que la narration des films s’est construite.

Puis, pour le montage, un grand nombre de versions successives ont été réalisées, avec des feedbacks de l’équipe de direction de la MPAA (grâce à une plateforme privée de streaming). Ainsi les films sont le résultat d’une véritable collaboration sur le fond entre la production et le commanditaire. J’emploie des méthodes dites « agiles », qui permettent, du fait de leurs protocoles techniques, beaucoup de souplesses et de modifications possibles, pour aboutir au résultat le plus proche des attentes.

Images de la soirée du 28 septembre 2018